Meet Swapna | Mompreneur Of the Month

I have started a new series called M.O.M, Mompreneur Of the Month. I know a bunch of people/bloggers/entrepreneurs/moms who are doing great jobs and I completely admire their effort of balancing work and family life. I love these ladies so much that I have decided to introduce them to you. So every month, I will be asking one of my mompreneur friends to write a special post for The Mommy Blog. That way you can take a look into their life, and may be find a new friend of your own.

And today, I’m so so happy to introduce you to Swapna Thomas of The Mom Views. I first came across her beautiful blog a couple of months ago through a random search. And instantly fell in love with it. Not just a mommy blogger, she is a Certified Business Coach as well, and is happy to help other mompreneurs. And you know how much I love mothers who are entrepreneurs, don’t you??  So that’s when I decided I was going to get her featured here on my blog, The Mommy Blog, whenever I start an appropriate series. And here she is, to share with us, her story.

Swapna_Author

Meet my mompreneur friend Swapna

 Tell us a little about yourself.

Hi! My name is Swapna. I am a Work-At -Home Mom to an angel called Samaira who is surprisingly devilish in her ways, keeps our household on toes and inadvertently teaches me the true meaning of life every single day. I am a true introvert who likes nothing more than staying at home and snuggle with a good book (nowadays on kindle). I belong to god’s own country Kerala but I was born and brought up in Delhi and now stay in the bustling metropolis of Gurgaon. I am a Science graduate, an MBA in Marketing and I have worked for 6 years in a research position in the corporate world. 
 What is your blog, The Mom Views, all about?
 The Mom Views is for every woman who is striving to be the best mother she can be for her little ones and rediscovering her own identity in the process.

The blog chronicles parenting tips, product reviews, fun activities for kids, birthday party, decor ideas and interesting tidbits for parents. From a fledgling blog it has now become a work-from-home career for me. I have been given opportunities to work with some great brands and picked up a few awards on the way ( including India’s best Parenting blog award by Indiblogger). Even better has been the experience of connecting with thousands of mothers to form a like minded community.

What/who convinced you to become a mompreneur?
I became mom to Sam in 2009 and quit my job to savor motherhood. When Sam turned two, I was getting itchy to create a new identity. Since writing has always been a passion and I loved the US mom blogs I had been reading for a while, I decided to start my own blog. Slowly but steadily the blog gained thousands of readers and I started being approached for working with brands.
 
As a mom blogger I worked with a lot of mom entrepreneurs and other mom bloggers as well. Sometimes they would ask my advice about the issues they were facing and I really enjoyed helping them out. Last year I started training as a business coach and today I am a Certified Business Coach who helps Mom Entrepreneurs and Bloggers achieve their dreams through my other website MomBizCafe
What is the biggest challenge you face being a mom and an entrepreneur?
 
One would be the attitude that brands usually have towards bloggers. We are almost always expected to work for free and everytime I turn down an unpaid assignment they behave as if I have committed a sin. 🙂 
 
Another is the constant demand of being online. As an introvert and a very private person, I don’t like to be online all the time but being in digital media you have to constantly be on the go. 
You work, run a blog, have a life, have kids…that’s a lot. How do you manage everything without losing your mind?
 
Who says I don’t! :p There are days when I do absolutely nothing and then there are days when I work like a mad woman. My trick is to never feel guilty about anything. When I am working I don’t feel guilty about not being with my family or daughter and when I am with my family, I never feel guilty about shirking work. So I enjoy the best of both worlds. I don’t want to be a supermom, I just want to be a good enough mom. 
 
 If/when you do lose your mind, what do you do to relieve the stress?
 
I dance with my daughter. Honestly we put on the cheesiest bollywood numbers and we dance! If any of my favorite romcoms are on television then I watch that to get de-stressed. 
Tell us a little about your better­-half and kids.
I married my high school sweetheart and we have been together for 16 years now ( 9 years of dating and 7 years of married bliss). Ours is an interstate and inter-religious marriage as I am a Keralite catholic and he is a hindu punjabi. He is a doctor by profession. My daughter Samaira is now 5 and a half years old and is the light of my life.
About_Me
 Your favourite on-­the-­go recipe for kids?
I am not a very kitchen friendly person but I make the yummiest oreo milkshake ever (atleast according to my daughter)
 
Something you want your readers to know about you?
Because I feel that mom bloggers come across as a judgemental lot, I want the readers to know that I have used television as a babysitter sometimes and I am not ashamed of it. 
 
 Your current favourite beauty product?
I don’t use makeup but I wear Kajal all the time so it has to be my Inglot eye pencil.
The most common colour in your closet?
Even though I love the color purple the most common color in my closet has to be various shades of green.
 
 Finish the sentence: Happiness to me is….not a destination. It’s a way of life. 
Thank you so much Swapna. Okay lovelies you may now go and check her out on The Mom Views and don’t forget to see how she helps others bloggers achieve their dreams through Mom Biz Cafe.
Cheers X
The Mommy Blog
One thought on “Meet Swapna | Mompreneur Of the Month

Leave a Reply

