POTATO DESSERT RECIPE

po3

Hello everyone!!

This week was smooth-going for me until the potatoes poped-in. Yes, you heard it right ” the potatoes“,My husband unexpectedly bought a large bag of potatoes from the grocery store and I was so puzzled!! “what on earth, would I do with so many potatoes?” I am not a fan of potatoes!. And from then on I have been thinking only about those potatoes. And on a fine afternoon the light bulb glowed! In my head! As I was in no mood to do a savory I decided to keep it sweet.

The potato dessert  is what I made. It’s pretty much like the  famous “gajar halwa” that a sweet dish made out of grated carrots. I just replaced carrots with potatoes and with some changes here and there we had this beautiful yet extremely tempting dessert to emjoy. I tried my best to make this dessert appealing by adding a little artificial edible colour and coated it with dry grated coconut. My husband and I both love sweets and I just wish that my “little A” also gets his sweet tooth real soon. So here is the recipe for you to enjoy!

What you will need:

sugar – 3 table spoons
potato – 3 medium
coconut(dry) – 2 table spoons ( finely grated)
cinnamon – 2 crushed
butter – 2 tea-spoon and 1-2 spoon for lining the tray
water – 1/2 cup
food colour(pink) – a pinch mixed in few drops of water

po2

Method:

  1.  Peel off the potato skin and grate them finely on a grater.(refer the pic)
  2. Heat butter in a non-stick pan till it melts.
  3. Add the grated potato to the butter and fry for 5 mins.
  4. After frying the potatoes add water, stir and cover it with a lid for 2 minutes.
  5. Open the lid of the pan, drop in the food colour and stir well to evenly spread the colour. (You can use any food colour that is available to you).
  6. And add the crushed cinnamon.
  7. Then add sugar and allow to cook on a low flame till the potato mixture in the pan is really thick in consistency.
  8. Grab a tray and coat it with butter.
  9. Put off the flame and allow the mixture to cool down.
  10. Pour the mixture in the tray and freeze for about an hour or till the mixture sets
  11. Take the tray out of the freezer and leave it at room temperature for about 5-10 minutes(this will loosen up the mixture from the tray).
  12. Cut the mixture into cubes.
  13. Take the grated coconut in a plate and coat the cubes with coconut on all the sides.
  14. Refrigerate the dessert once done.

po1

Serve it chilled with milkshakes or coffee. This lovely potato dessert will go well with both.

Enjoy this mouth-watering sweet with your family and friends.

What’s your favourite potatoes recipes? Let us know in the comments below! 🙂

Leave a Reply

