Easy Hummus Recipe for Kids

hummus

Off late, the girls have been enjoying their raw or steam vegetables a lot. And as a mom I have to confess that I have been spending more time searching for some easy-to-make, delicious recipes out of those veggies. Also I generally try to keep the recipes very basic yet high in their nutritional value. Saves me good amount of time and effort!
Here’s my recipe for you.

Things you will need:

  • 250 gms Chickpeas
  • 4-5 tbsp virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • salt to taste
  • chopped cilantro (optional)

What you need to do:

  1. Soaked chick peas overtime. And mix them in a food processor with garlic cloves and cumin seeds to make a smooth paste.
  2. Add salt, lemon juice and olive oil and mix evenly. And that’s it!

P.S: I didn’t have Tahini at home, so I decided to add some peanut butter instead. And there wasn’t much difference in the taste. So if it’s available for you, you may just want to replace peanut butter with it.

hum

And my girls love it with fresh baby carrots and cucumbers. It also makes a delicious yet healthy bread spread. You can make it and store in an air-tight container for over a month. It’s super simple to make and highly nutritious. So just go and soak those chickpeas right away. And let me know if you have a better recipe for making it. I would love to learn it from you. 🙂

Thank you so much for stopping by! 😀

 

6 thoughts on “Easy Hummus Recipe for Kids

  1. I’m adding some garlic salt instead of garlic cloves, hope it’s
    fine, as I don’t wanna use garlic here directly…

Leave a Reply

