DIY Handprint Keepsakes

Now that we have two beautiful little girls , LIFE seems even more special. ๐Ÿ˜€

And I’m pretty sure time will fly off ย and in a few years from now we’ll have two beautiful big girls!

So I thought of preserving their little handprints before they are no longer so little!! And then I’ll hang them up in their nursery when we move into a bigger space! ( If at all we do ๐Ÿ™‚ ) ย 

Ohh yeah ! I was only this far from buying the in-store memory keepsake but then the price-tag forced my to stop!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Hence I decided to try it out on my own! ( Off late I’ve fallen inย love “trying” ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

I actually came-across countless recipes on the web but I settled with this one.. that’s simple and super-easy! ๐Ÿ™‚

And mine looked like this…

20131116-165109.jpg

(The Big Thing’s impressions are pretty light as I didn’t let her force her hands cos she was super-excited at the thought of playing with the dough and had already damaged the earlier one by pushing her hands too much into the dough … You know how these little kids are!! LOL )

Anyways!

Things you will need :

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup salt
  • Luke-warm water for kneading
  • a rolling pin
  • Butter-paper

what you need to do :

  • Mix the flour with salt and knead evenly by adding Luke – warm water ย as and when required ( knead at least for 10 minutes so you’ve a very soft dough with no bubbles left)
  • Roll it flat with a rolling pin.
  • Place it over a flat surface with a butter/baking paper under it.
  • Ask you child to make her prints onto the flat mould.
  • Cut into shapes desired and let it dry for several days together ( depending on the thickness of your mould ).

You can also bake it on 120 degrees for two-three hours but I chose the natural method ๐Ÿ™‚

Tips that you might find useful :

  1. Don’t forget/neglect the butter/baking paper because the mould will stick onto the plate you will let it dry on! ( I had to throw away one that i dried for like three days .. Oh no!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ).
  2. The consistency of the dough may not be very smooth cos of the salt content in it.

So go and have some fun with your little ones… And do keep me posted ! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “DIY Handprint Keepsakes

  1. Pingback: DIY Bulletin Board! | hfareen's space

  2. Pingback: Celebrating First 100 Likes on Facebook | hfareen's space

Leave a comment