Re-purposing Cardboard Boxes

20131208-175925.jpg

OK let me confess.. I had this sitting in my ‘drafts’ for like two weeks or so!! I never posted cos I had I almost forgotten about it!!

I came across it only yesterday and so here it is.. another up-cycling project!

Yeah I know it may appear to you as if I’ve been bitten by the ‘recycling’ bug!! Hmmm… Yeah may be your right! May be I’m suffering from ‘recyclitis’ or ‘upcyclexia’?? LOL

OK sorry I was just playing around..I seriously don’t even know the medical usage of those suffixes!! Forgive me medicos! πŸ™‚

Moving on… I should admit that I’ve started re-purposing every other thing I manage to get my hands on!! Or at the least I think of every possible way of doing it…followed by a loads LOADS of googling Of course!! πŸ˜€ So may be you’ll get to read a few more posts on the same before I get ‘just-fed-up’ of it!!

Coming back… I’ve used these old cardboard box that came in with the parcels I recently recieved and with a few others household stuff..!! And I just couldn’t throw them away!! So I upcycled them for storage bins!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

Yes of course you may buy a few at any of your local stores but if you’ve got a teaspoon of interest , a tablespoon of patience
and a cup of time on hand then why not make one yourself…. πŸ˜€ ( Yeah I know I just exaggarated it a bit but then its worth a try!! πŸ™‚ )

This is how they look…

20131208-175933.jpg

I store hats and bibs in the first one!

Second one holds baby’s inner-wear!

Third one serves as a utility kit!

The fourth is for theΒ diaper inserts.

And the one below is for organising other baby essentials!!! πŸ˜€

20131208-175918.jpg

Anyways take a look at the following steps below to it on your own! πŸ™‚

Things you’ll need:

  • a cardboard box
  • fabric ( as per the size of your box )
  • a white paper/any contrasting fabric
  • loads of adhesive
  • tape

What you need to do:

  • Firstly trim off the unwanted edges of the box.
  • Tape the corners together to make it more stable.
  • Measure the height and the length of the box or you can also clip the fabric to the box for an approximation.
  • Later on cut the fabric as per your measurements and glue the fabric firmly onto the box.
  • Let it dry for 2-3 hours before using.
  • If you want a more finished look use a contrasting fabric for the base ( on the inside ).

You can use ’em for storing whatever stuff you want! Be it nail-polishes,combs, or any other accessory! But I used mine for storing all of my baby stuff.. from lotions to diapers to insert to hats and bibs!! πŸ˜€

Quick Tip:Β I used a white paper instead of fabric for the base cos that was easily available to me. And moreover I wasn’t much bothered about how it looked from inside!! πŸ™‚

So from now on think twice before trashing away those ‘waste’ boxes!! You ne’er know…may be they are meant to serve multiple purposes!! πŸ˜‰

I would love to know if you’ve repurposed anything!!! Write your stories in the comments! πŸ™‚

And ofcourse thankiyu so much for stoping by!! πŸ˜€ X

2 thoughts on “Re-purposing Cardboard Boxes

  1. Pingback: Cloth Diaper Series: New Arrivals | hfareen's space

  2. Pingback: Re-purposed Shoe Boxes! | hfareen's space

Leave a comment