UPCYCLED Tea-Cup For Pin Cushion

Each time I’m back home after a long tiring day.. I always wonder as to where my scraf pins should really go so they are easily available for the very next use!

And so to make my life a li’l easier.. I decided I should be making a pin cushion! ( Which are not available in stores, not at least in India) 🙂

Yeah I know many cute designs and ideas are available out there.. but I wanted to make something very basic yet serves the purpose. And moreover I could obviously not go about shopping for the stuff I needed to make some bloody silly pin cushion!! 🙂 No-no!

So I made mine with all the scrap I could get my hands on to!

Follow along and make one for youself. So you don’t have to run around your house searching for those pins!

20131124-201355.jpg

Things you’ll need:

  • 1 Used tea-cup ( cracked/chipped) Mine was chipped on the edge.
  • Scissor
  • Fabric for wrapping
  • Stuffing material(sponge/scrap fabric/polyfil)
  • Pins
  • Thread
  • Newspaper for extra stuffing

What you need to do:

  • Take the scrap fabric/sponge of the size of the mouth of your tea-cup so that it fits perfectly in to it.
  • Wrap it with a nice fabric

20131124-201403.jpg

( I tied the end together with a thread rather than sewing)

  • Fasten the ends with a thread. You can also sew the ends.
  • Place it in the cup neatly and your done.!!! ( Stuff newspaper at the bottom of your cup if it’s too shallow)

20131124-201413.jpg

(This was the product.. and as you can see I used a chipped tea cup cos I really don’t care 😀 )

YEAH!! That’s it.. You can now park your pins and needles without misplacing them ever again!

Another lovely project that’s super-simple and won’t cost you a single buck! So go ahead and make one for yourself! 🙂

Leave a comment